Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, April 2017

Udall and Goldwater Scholars, an HBO movie role, and a slew of teaching and research awards highlight the April kudos for Franklin students and faculty:

University of Georgia juniors and Honors students Morgan Gibbs (from Peachtree City, majoring in chemistry and minoring in pharmaceutical sciences) and Mallory Harris (from Dunwoody, is pursuing mathematical sciences with a concentration in computational biology) are among 240 students across the nation to be recognized as 2017 Barry Goldwater Scholars, the highest undergraduate award of its type for the fields of mathematics, natural sciences and engineering.

Communications studies sophomore Kyanna Simone Simpson featured in HBO movie ‘The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks’

American Museum of Natural History gives UGA archaeological collection more than 109,000 artifacts – Columbus Ledger-Enquirer, UGA Today

Third-year students Shreya Ganeshan (from Johns Creek, is majoring in economics and statistics) and Elizabeth Wilkes (from Atlanta, is majoring in geography and ecology) were honored as Udall Scholars for their leadership, public service and commitment to issues related to the environment.

UGA receives $1 million NSF grant to extend STEM minority program to increase underrepresented minority enrollment in graduate programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics

University of Georgia will advance research with implications for economic vitality and national security through its newly created Institute for Cybersecurity and Privacy, housed in the Franklin College

Marshall Shepherd Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor and director of the atmospheric sciences program at UGA, will deliver the 2017 graduate commencement address held at 10 a.m. in Stegeman Coliseum

Associate professor of genetics Kelly Dyer is one of three UGA faculty members who received 2017 Richard B. Russell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Richard Meagher, Distinguished Research Professor of Genetics, was recognized with the 2017 Academic Entrepreneur of the Year Award, which recognizes a faculty member who has started a company based on UGA research

Jessica Kissinger, professor of genetics, Tianming Liu, professor of computer science, and Claudio Saunt, Richard B. Russell Professor in American History were recognized as 2017 Distinguished Research Professors, awarded to faculty who are internationally regarded for their original contributions to knowledge and whose work promises to foster continued creativity in their discipline

Distinguished Research Professor of Genetics Allen Moore, received the 2017 Lamar Dodd Award for distinguished achievements in the sciences

Meigs Professor of Sociology Jody Clay-Warner received the 2017 William A. Owens Award for distinguished achievements in the social and behavioral sciences

Tina Harris, professor of communications studies, was recognized as the 2017 Engaged Scholar by the Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach

Professor of plant biology Katrien Devos, director of UGA's Performing Arts Center and associate professor of music George Foreman, associate professor of geography Deepak Mishra and professor of Spanish Elizabeth Wright were awarded Creative Research Medals for 2017

Professor of mathematics Jason Cantarella and Kristen Miller, director of the division of biological sciences received 2017 Creative Teaching Awards

Image: Associate professor of genetics and Russell Teaching Award recipient Kelly Dyer

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.