Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


UGA students awarded AMS scholarship, graduate fellowship

Alan Flurry

The American Meteorological Society recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations of the weather, water, and climate community in its annual Awards and Honors program. 2019 recipients include current and former UGA geography students:

Alexandra Mazurek, who graduated in 2019, is the recipient of an American Meteorological Society Graduate Fellowship. The award is a one-year, $25,000 stipend.  She will be attending Colorado State University to pursue an M.S. in atmospheric science.  

Lily Houston, who has just finished her junior year, is the recipient of an AMS Senior Named Scholarship.  Houston was awarded the Dr. Yoram Kaufman Scholarship, a leading scientist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, whose research led to greater understanding of global warming. 21 named scholarships were given by the AMS in 2019; the Kaufman scholarship carries a $2,000 stipend.

Congratulations to these outstanding students and to faculty members in the department of geography and the Atmospheric Sciences Program on the national recognition of the achievements of these future scientists and leaders.


Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.