Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Agrawal and Ramanan win Dartmouth Round Robin debate

Alan Flurry

One of the finest accomplishments a UGA debate team has ever achieved, the team of Swapnil Agrawal and Advait Ramanan won the 2019 Herbert L. James Debates at Dartmouth College, known as the Dartmouth Round Robin debate competition, this past weekend in Hanover, NH. The win bodes well for the Georgia Debate Union's chances of winning a national championship later this spring.

The competition included the top 7 debate teams in the country competing against each other over two days. The teams compete in a round robin format and the winner is the team with the highest number of victories. The Georgia Debate Union emerged victorious over teams representing Harvard University, Dartmouth College, Emory University, the University of California-Berkeley, the University of Kentucky, and the University of Oklahoma.  

They are the second team in the Georgia Debate Union's history to win the Dartmouth Round Robin - the team of Brent Culpepper and Kevin Rabinowitz were the first in 2007.

Swapnil and Advait are also the first team in Georgia Debate Union history to receive consecutive invitations to the Dartmouth Round Robin (they finished 4th last year as juniors).

In addition to their accomplishment as a team this past weekend, Swapnil was recognized as the 3rd best speaker. 

The Georgia Debate Union's next competition is in early February at Northwestern University.  

Image: Snowy Dartmouth College campus

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.