Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Divisional Spotlight: Biological Sciences

Alan Flurry

Like the heart has four chambers, the Franklin College as the heart of UGA consists of five divisions. We want to begin the new year by highlighting this element of our organizational structure and the academic units contained in each division. 

We begin today with the division of BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES!

Spanning the broad field of natural sciences concerned with the study of life and living organisms, the Division of Biological Sciences consists of the departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Plant Biology, Cellular Biology, Microbiology, Genetics, Marine Science, as well as the non-Franklin department Entomology and the Odum School of Ecology.

In addition to having its own B.S. degree program in Biology (with the option of a concentration in neuroscience or marine biology), each department also has its own major and degree program. Due to the tight integration and relatedness of biological disciplines, the Division was created to conduct an undergraduate degree program with the participation of the individual departments and faculty. The Chairman of the Division of Biological Sciences as well as the Director of Undergraduate Degree Program is professor Kristen Miller.


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Cellular Biology | Genetics | Marine Sciences | Microbiology | Plant Biology

Image: UGA photo of Davison Life Sciences complex at sunrise

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.