Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, February 2023

Alan Flurry

Even the shortest month has been replete with accolades and awards across UGA and the Franklin College. A few of the colleagues, alumni, and campus organizations we congratulated during February:

UGA senior vice provost Michelle Garfield Cook named vice president for student affairs – UGA TodayWGAUAthens CEO  

Christine Szymanski, professor and associate head of the department of microbiology, is one of three UGA faculty elected into National Academy of Inventors

Five UGA faculty – two from sociology Joseph Hermanowicz and Ronald Simons, and Ping Ma from statistics – elected as AAAS Fellows – UGA TodayWGAU

The Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation announced that Courtney Ellison, assistant professor of microbiology, is one of seven new recipients of the Damon Runyon-Dale F. Frey Award for Breakthrough Scientists

The University of Georgia bestowed one of its highest honors — the President’s Medal — on Robert G. “Bob” Edge, a UGA alumnus, attorney, civic leader and advocate of the performing arts.wins President’s Medal – WGAUUGA Today

Marshall Shepherd, Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor of Atmospheric Sciences and Geography, moderated a discussion with Vice President Kamala Harris about climate change at Georgia Tech on Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2023, in Atlanta

For the first time in its history, the University of Georgia surpassed a half-billion dollars in research and development spending in fiscal year 2022, a jump of more than 10% from the previous year

Melville, Beauty, and American Literary Studies: An Aesthetics in All Things by Cody Marrs, English department head, was published by Oxford University Press

Exquisite and excelling: Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority celebrates 50 years at UGA – R&B

UGA named a top producer of Fulbright students – UGA TodayR&B 

David P. Landau, Distinguished Research Professor in the department of physics and astronomy and director of the Center for Simulational Physics; and Michael Terns, Distinguished Research Professor in the department of biochemistry and molecular biology,  are among three UGA faculty members have been named Regents’ Professors in recognition of the national and international reach of their innovative and pace-setting scholarship

Image: The Eta Xi chapter poses with fellow Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated member Mary Frances Early in 2018. (Courtesy/Christel Vivor)

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.