Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, January 2022

Alan Flurry

Wonderful awards and accolades across the Franklin College to begin 2022, though there can only be one headline to our January kudos: 41 years!

Georgia Bulldogs win rematch vs. Alabama Crimson Tide for first college national championship since 1980 season – ESPN, Sports Illustrated, CNN, ABC News, U.S. News & World ReportUGA Today,, ABH, Atlanta Business Chronicle

Marshall Shepherd was among the distinguished leaders named 100 Most Influential Georgians – Georgia Trend

Third round of Presidential Interdisciplinary Seed Grants awarded – UGA Today

Jennifer Palmer, associate professor of history, received a Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities

Ying Xu, professor of biochemistry, was elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers – UGA Today

Three UGA faculty — Patricia Yager, professor of marine sciences, Jessica Kissinger, Distinguished Research Professor of genetics,  and James E. Byers, Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor and associate dean for research and operations in the Odum School of Ecology — have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In a tradition stretching back to 1874, these individuals are elected annually by the AAAS Council for their extraordinary achievements leading to the advancement of science.

The late Richard Graham, former director of the Hugh Hodgson School of Music, received the 2022 President’s Medal – UGA Today

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.