Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Four UGA faculty members named AAAS Fellows

Alan Flurry

Four University of Georgia faculty members, three from the Franklin College, have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed by their peers for “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

These four faculty members are among 489 new AAAS Fellows who will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue—representing science and engineering, respectively—rosette pin. They will be formally inducted during a ceremony on Feb. 13, 2021, bringing the total number of active AAAS Fellows at UGA to 38. More than 180 UGA-affiliated faculty have been named AAAS Fellows since the organization began electing them in 1874.

“This is yet another recognition that our faculty continue to break new scientific ground and earn the respect and recognition of their peers across the country,” said David Lee, vice president for research. “To be named an AAAS Fellow is a major milestone in one’s research career, and I congratulate all of our latest elected Fellows on their tremendous achievements.”

MORE from our colleagues in the UGA Office of Research>

Image: NEW AAAS Fellows Sonia Altizer, John Burke, Diana Downs and Rick Tarleton.

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.