Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, March 2024

Alan Flurry

Excellence in Teaching Awards, Meigs Professorships and our newest Regents' Entrepreneur lead the March kudos. Congratulations to our colleagues, alumni and students on these outstanding accomplishments:


The University System of Georgia Board of Regents approved Valentine Nzengung as Regents’ Entrepreneur. Nzengung, professor of environmental geochemistry in the department of geology and founder of MuniRem Environmental, LLC, is the third UGA faculty member to receive this honor

Dainess Maganda, senior lecturer in the department of comparative literature and intercultural studies in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, and Montgomery Wolf, principal lecturer in the department of history and director of the Franklin Residential College, were named recipients of the University of Georgia Award for Excellence in Teaching for their dedication and creativity in the classroom

Erin Dolan, professor in the department of biochemistry and molecular biology, Leslie Gordon Simons, professor in the department of sociology, and Julie Stanton, associate professor in the department of cellular biology, are among six exceptional faculty members have been honored with the University of Georgia’s highest award for teaching, the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship

Internationally renowned poet and Franklin College alumna A.E. Stallings, who studied classics at UGA and the University of Oxford and is acclaimed for her works of translation and original poetry, delivered the opening keynote address at the second annual UGA Humanities Festival

Jill Anderson, associate professor in the department of genetics and the Odum School of Ecology, is one of three University of Georgia faculty members to receive the 2024 Russell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, the university’s highest early career teaching honor for outstanding and innovative instruction

The Jill and Marvin Willis Center for Writing is featured in the current issue of the Georgia Magazine

Franklin alumna and Olympic champion swimmer Allison Schmitt (BS '98, psychology) will deliver the spring undergraduate Commencement address at the University of Georgia on May 10

Amanda Spivak, associate professor in the department of marine sciences, is a collaborator on a $8.4 million grant from the Simons Foundation to support collaborative research in coastal tidal marshes, via a cluster of seven linked project awards through its Life Sciences division

UGA Theatre presented “First Semester: A Musical,” an original work written by undergraduate and Cora Nunnally Miller Arts Scholar Wyn Alyse Thomas, directed by Thomas and Sydney Rainwater and supported by the New Georgia Group fund

Image: Montgomery Wolf a recipient of the Excellence in Teaching award. (Photo by Peter Frey/UGA)

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.