Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Faculty Awards

Award Programs

Franklin College Faculty Excellence in Diversity Advocacy Award - $1000 Award

The Franklin College greatly values diversity and inclusion and understands that faculty play a critical role in promoting those values. The College therefore would like to recognize excellence in creating and sustaining an inclusive climate for diversity through the Diversity Excellence Award. This award for faculty will recognize outstanding efforts in promoting diversity and inclusion in the college.  

M. G. Michael Award 

The M. G. Michael Award was established in 1944 to stimulate new initiatives in scholarship in all areas of the Arts and Sciences. Its primary purpose is to encourage the development of a new (and perhaps adventurous) idea or project during the coming year. The Award implies faith in that purpose and in the ability of the faculty member selected to plan and conduct the proposed research; it is not given in recognition of previous research accomplishments. Nevertheless, it does require evidence that recipients have been proficient researchers.

General Sandy Beaver Teaching Professorship 

Two year teaching professorship for tenured faculty that demonstrate advocacy of teaching, including not limited to such activities as participation in teaching seminars and symposia, mentoring of junior faculty or graduate students, peer evaluation, annual teaching of a freshman seminar, and course development. 

Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Awards 

These awards for excellence in teaching annually honor outstanding faculty in the Franklin College who have shown a sustained commitment to high-quality instruction. Faculty of all ranks, but particularly those engaged in undergraduate teaching, are eligible for this award with the exception of those who have won the award in the past five years.

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award 

The Franklin College Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is established by Ted and Caroline Ridlehuber, two devoted alumni of the University, to recognize each year a faculty member in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences who has through sustained commitment to high-quality instruction in undergraduate teaching made a life-changing impact on students. The award amount of $2500 is intended to support career development and provide opportunities to enhance the recipient’s teaching and research. Faculty of all ranks, but particularly those engaged in undergraduate teaching, are eligible for this award with the exception of those who have received it in the previous five years. 

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.