Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, April 2024

Alan Flurry

From competitions and professional society inductions to the most prestigious fellowships and scholarships, our colleagues – and students – continued to shine brightly, lighting up Honors season at UGA and beyond. A roundup of just a few of the many awards and accolades:

Bob Schmitz, UGA Foundation Professorship in Plant Sciences and Lars G. Ljungdahl Distinguished Investigator in the department of genetics, was honored with the 2024 Charles Albert Shull Award from the American Society of Plants Biologists (ASPB)

Hannah Ericson, a doctoral candidate in Genetics, is the Grand Prize Winner at this year’s University of Georgia Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition 

Rachel Gabara, professor and undergraduate coordinator in the department of Romance Languages, has been named the first Nancy Gillespie Brinning Professor in French

The American Association of Geographers (AAG) announced Marshall Shepherd, Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor in the department of geography and Atmospheric Sciences Program and Associate Dean for Research, scholarship, and Partnerships, as one of two 2024 Presidential Achievement Award winners

The Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SISSA) announced UGA faculty member Pierrick Bousseau, assistant professor in the department of mathematics, as one of two the winners of the 2024 Dubrovin Medal

Alumna Sarah Quinn (AB ’11, MA ’22) has been appointed the director of the Dean Rusk International Law Center, a nucleus for global research, education and service for UGA’s School of Law since 1977

The Oklahoma Center for the Book selected LeAnne Howe, Eidson Distinguished Professor in American Literature and Director of the Institute of Native American Studies, to receive the 2024 Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award

Franklin College undergraduate student Ansley Warnock ('25) was the individual debate champion at the the University System of Georgia’s (USG) first Regents Cup Debate Series held in Macon

Two Franklin College juniors named 2024 Goldwater Scholars – UGA Today

AAAS elects Marguerite “Peggy” Brickman, professor of plant biology, and Victor Thompson, Distinguished Research Professor of Anthropology, as 2024 Fellows – UGA Today

Department of English doctoral student Saurabh Anand wins multiple accolades during 2023-24

Four Franklin College faculty were named Early Career Scholar Award winners at the 45th Annual 2024 UGA Research Awards

Aaron P. Mitchell, Distinguished Research Professor and head of the department of microbiology, became the 12th University of Georgia faculty member to be elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The Franklin College of Arts and Sciences Multidisciplinary Seed Grant Program funded two new tracks of collaborative research projects: Rapid Interdisciplinary Proposals (RIP) and Innovation in Interdisciplinary Instruction (I-Cubed)

See the full roster of Honors' Week awards. Congratulations all!

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.