Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, January 2023

Alan Flurry

Fellowships and awards, new books and a college football National Championship has 2023 off to a great start for UGA and the Franklin College. Congratulations to all – because it takes everyone to create the new standard of excellence in athletics and academics. The latest accomplishments among our colleagues include:

The American Association of Geographers (AAG) honored professor of geography Nik Heynen as a 2023 AAG Fellow, one of 16 geographers in a variety of practice areas for their contributions to geographic research, advancement of practice, and careers devoted to strengthening the field of geography, including teaching and mentoring

The National Endowment for the Arts announced that University of Georgia faculty member Aruni Kashyap is one of 22 translators selected to receive a Literature Translation Fellowship

UGA faculty members Tessa Andrews, Peggy Brickman, Paula Lemons and Erin Dolan—all representing STEM-related departments—were awarded a six-year, $493,065 grant from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Inclusive Excellence 3 (IE3) initiative, the UGA team will focus on three areas of effective and inclusive teaching including changes in policy, effective instructor development and optimal sources of evidence

Anna Westerstahl Stenport, dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), has been named the next dean of the Franklin College following a national search

The Wandering Mind: What Medieval Monks Tell Us About Distraction, a new book by professor of history and associate dean Jamie Kreiner, was published by Liveright, an imprint of W.W. Norton

"Montology Palimpsest: A Primer of Mountain Geographies" by professor of geography Fausto Sarmiento was published Springer-Nature/Switzerland

Concerto Competition winners in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music – Michael Baker, trumpet; Gabriella McClellan, cello; Anna Savelyeva, piano; Diego Suarez, piano; and Yinzi Zhou, flute – will perform with the UGA Symphony Orchestra conducted by Mark Cedel in the launch of the spring Thursday Scholarship Series Thursday, January 26 at 7:30 p.m.

UGA alumna Kirsten Allen was named a 2023 Quad Fellow, a scholarship supporting interdisciplinary innovation in science and technology by connecting graduate students from the four Quad countries: Australia, India, Japan and the United States

UGA named Jeanette Taylor the next vice provost for academic affairs, effective April 1. Taylor is currently the associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and a professor of psychology at Florida State University


Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.