Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Kudos, Summer 2022

Alan Flurry

The new School of Computing, faculty awards and grants as well as the promotion of Franklin College colleagues to university-level leadership positions highlight our kudos for the summer. Congratulations all!


University of Georgia to elevate computer science with new school – AJCR&BFortune

UGA plant biologist Robert Schmitz named finalist for prestigious 2022 Blavatnik National Award for young Scientists – R&B

The National Science Foundation has awarded the University of Georgia $2.5 million to expand the Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) – a coalition of six public colleges and universities in Georgia formed to increase the number of underrepresented students statewide who complete undergraduate and advanced degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields

Martin Kagel named associate provost for global engagement – UGA Today

Lọla Fagbami, a postdoctoral research associate at UGA, has been awarded a Burroughs Wellcome Fund 2022 Postdoctoral Diversity Enrichment Program fellowship

Tenor Clay Hilley (BMUS '04) took on the role of Siegfried at the Bayreuth Festival for the premiere of “Götterdämmerung” on August 5, 2022.

New residence Black-Diallo-Miller Hall named for first African American students to enroll as freshmen and graduate from UGA – On Common Ground, The Grio

First class of UGA film students graduates – WGAU  

UGA completes Phase 2 of STEM Research Complex – UGA TodayWGAU  

Magdalena Zurawski, Fausto Sarmiento among UGA Fulbright Awards for 2022-2023 – UGA Today 

The UGA Office of Research named Jody Clay-Warner the new director of the Owens Institute for Behavioral Research, effective Aug. 1

The National Science Foundation Research Traineeship Program (NRT) awarded a $3 million Collaborative Grant to UGA and the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, to develop a Quantum Networks Training and Research Alliance in the Southeast (QuaNTRASE)

Janet Westpheling, professor in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences department of genetics, has been selected to receive the Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology (SIMB) Charles Porter Award

LeAnne Howe, Eidson Distinguished Professor in American Literature was awarded the Richard Beale Davis Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service to Southern Letters by the Society for the Study of Southern Literature for her work as a scholar and writer

The Lamar Dodd School of Art announced the appointment of Joseph Peragine to the position of director

Jada Smith, a fourth-year undergraduate majoring in atmospheric sciences, has won the American Meteorological Society (AMS) Warren and Mary Washington Scholarship 

Student musicians in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music Saxophone Studio were awarded the Gold Medal in the senior wind division of the 49th Annual Fischoff Competition

Image: UGA Arch

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.