Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Franklin Dean Finalists Announced

When former dean Garnett Stokes stepped down this past August to become provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at Florida State University, senior associate dean Hugh Ruppersburg was named interim dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. A longtime faculty member with vast institutional knowledge of Franklin College as well as a noted scholar of American film and literature, Ruppersburg has taken on the role of dean quite naturally. We are indebted to him for representing the College in such a forward-looking and effective manner. Meanwhile the University of Georgia is also moving forward to find a permanent dean for Franklin College; the finalists in the search have been announced and each will make presentations to the university community in February:

A search committee, chaired by Thomas Lauth, dean of UGA's School of Public and International Affairs, conducted a national search to identify the finalists.

The committee was assisted by UGA's Executive and Faculty Search Group.

Each finalist will make a public presentation from 8:45-9:45 a.m. in the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel. The finalists, dates and rooms for their presentations are:

• Alan T. Dorsey, associate dean for natural sciences and mathematics and professor of physics in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at the University of Florida, on Feb. 16 in Masters Hall;

• Diana L. Lipscomb, Robert Weintraub Chair and professor of biological sciences and former interim dean of the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences at George Washington University, on Feb. 20 in Masters Hall;

• David E. Richardson, senior associate dean and professor of chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at the University of Florida, on Feb. 22 in Mahler Auditorium;

• Joel L. Martin, vice provost for academic personnel and dean of the faculty and Distinguished Professor of History at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, on Feb. 27 in Conference Room K/L.

We are grateful to the search committee for their efforts in idenityfing these finalists and look forward to meeting the candidates.

Support Franklin College

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.