Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, January 15, 2013

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 101 of the Miller Learning Center, Scott Dougan presiding.

Members Present: Ibigbolade Aderibigbe, Christine Albright, Maor Bar-Peled, Dana Bultman, Brandon Craswell, Chris Cuomo, Trina Cyterski, Shanta Dhar, Fred Dolezal, Scott Dougan, Rebecca Enghauser, Christine Franklin, Shelby Funk, Kelly Happe, Uwe Happek, Miriam Jacobson, Jim Lauderdale, Reid Messich, Jan Mrazek, Daniel Nakano, Kanzo Nakayama, Virginia Nazarea, Robert Phillips, Mike Roden, Dan Rood, Richard Suplita, Saral Surakul, Karim Traore, Angela Yao, and Xiangrong Yin.

Proxies: Eileen Kraemer (proxy for Budak Arpinar), Marguerite Madden (proxy for Joshua Barkan), Renate Born (proxy for Christine Haase), Adrian Burd (proxy for Charles Hopkinson), John Rose (proxy for Natarajan Kannan), Lesley Feracho (proxy for Nicolás Lucero), Jeremy Reynolds (proxy for Patricia Richards), Bill Lancilotta (proxy for Zachary Wood).

Members not present: Mike Arnold, Mitch Rothstein, Jake Short, Jon Swindler.

Visitors: none

Approval of the minutes of the 13 November 2012 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Scott Dougan's Remarks

As a follow up to the November Senate meeting regarding the Franklin College IT presentation by Dr. Christine Miller and the discussion from the senators, President Dougan appointed an ad hoc committee on the university computer policy to meet with Dr. Miller and her team. The committee members are: Rebecca Enghauser (Dance), Nicolas Lucero (Romance Languages), Natarajan Kannan (BCMB), Shanta Dhar (Chemistry), and Jan Mrazek (Microbiology). Senator Enghauser is serving as chair of the committee. President Dougan has charged the committee with the following objectives: (1) To determine the University's rationale for the change in policy, and whether this change in policy is addressing a real problem. If not, what are suggested solutions to develop a better policy? (2) To determine how the policy is being implemented across the College. (3) To express the committee concerns (and the concerns of the Senate) with the policy and how it is being implemented. (4) To determine if there is a need for the Senate to become formally involved in this process. (5) To issue a formal report on the committee's findings to the Faculty Senate for the March 2013 meeting. President Dougan plans to invite Dr. Miller to attend the March 2013 meeting.

Sr. Assoc. Dean Hugh Ruppersburg's Remarks

- Dean Dorsey was unable to attend due to a university commitment in Atlanta.
- Budget update: There are possible additional reductions in the new academic year on top of the permanent 3% cut. The College is in the process of preparing budgets for 4 scenarios: (1) additional 0.4% reduction (2) additional 1% reduction (3) additional 2%

reduction and (4) a 2% increase that Assoc. Dean Ruppersburg indicated is not likely to happen. He also indicated there is no news on raises. His sense is raises will not occur.

- The promotion and tenure cases have all been informed of decisions and most cases are positive. There are a few appeals in progress.
- Faculty Development Program: The Dean's office is still working on the substance and process for reviving this program. Dean Dorsey has discussed this program with department heads and asked for their input.
- Assoc. Dean Ruppersburg indicated that external funding was down last year. He also indicated that Franklin College received \$600,000 less dollars for teaching EFT's by tenure track faculty members (\$300,000 compared to the previous \$900,000).

Committee Reports:

- Academic Standards Committee: Received 23 petitions, approved 13, denied 10.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 30 new courses, approved 16 course changes, and approved 1 new proposal for a name change.
- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

New Business:

• The Geography Center name change proposal was presented to the Senate by Marguerite Madden from the Geography department. The current center name is: Center for Remote Sensing and Mapping Sciences (CRMS). The proposed center name is: Center For Geospatial Research (CGR). The Senate passed the name change proposal unanimously. The vote was 38 approve.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Christine Franklin Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Statistics

FRANKLIN COLLEGE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE REPORT JANUARY 15, 2013

Curriculum Description	Approved
New Courses	30 courses
Course Changes	16 changes
Proposals Approved: Geography Center for Remote Sensing & Mapping Science Name Change MUSI 2040 & MUSI 2050 as courses to meet University Cultural Diversity Requirement	