Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 3:33 PM in room 102 of the Miller Learning Center, Dana Bultman presiding.

Members Present: Ibigbolade Aderibigbe, Christine Albright, Budak Arpinar, Maor Bar-Peled, Mary Bedell, Dana Bultman, Brandon Craswell, Trina Cyterski, Shanta Dhar, Inge DiBella, Husseina Dinani, Rebecca Enghauser, Christine Franklin, Shelby Funk, Kim Gilbert, Kelly Happe, Uwe Happek, Miriam Jacobson, Natarajan Kannan, Jim Lauderdale, Lan Mu, Dan Nakano, Virginia Nazarea, Robert Phillips, Patricia Richards, Dan Rood, Mitch Rothstein, Richard Suplita, Saral Surakul, Jon Swindler, Karim Traore, Zachary Wood, Sarah Wright, and Angela Yao.

Proxies: Renato Caastelao (proxy for Charles Hopkinson), Amanda Pollard (proxy for Reid Messich), and Emily Sahakian (proxy for Christopher Eaket).

Members not present: Fred Dolezal, Diana Downs, Chad Howe, Mike Roden, and Inseok Song.

Visitors: None

Approval of the minutes of the 15 January 2014 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Dana Bultman's Remarks

- President Bultman informed the Senate that the documents (resolutions and letter) the Senate approved at the November 2013 meeting with respect to the Non-Discrimination Policy and Fair Employment Practices Act were presented by President Bultman and discussed by the University Council on February 6, 2014. The University Council has sent the documents to the Human Resource committee for further discussion.
- President Bultman announced there will be a general Franklin College faculty meeting on Reading day, April 29, 2014 at 3pm. Details about location will be announced later. This is a meeting required by the Franklin College bylaws.

Dean Dorsey's Remarks

- Dean Dorsey reminded the Senate about the email sent with the proposed make up days of March 22 and March 29 that can be used at the discretion of the instructor for missed classes due to weather.
- Dean Dorsey noted some 2014 legislative session items. The House appropriation committee in the FY15 budget has approved money for the new Science Learning Center and for renovations to Baldwin Hall. This committee also recommended system wide merit pay raises for state employees. All of these recommendations by the House still have to be approved by the Senate.

- Dean Dorsey informed the Senate of two searches currently being conducted: VP for Development and Alumni Affairs and VP for Finance and Administration.
- Dean Dorsey informed the Senate that Dean Maureen Grasso of the Graduate School will become Dean of the Graduate School at North Carolina State University beginning July 1, 2014.
- Dean Dorsey brought awareness to the Senate that there is a Franklin college development staff who work with departments for fund raising. He recognized recent excellent hires made for the development staff. Fund raising is up within the College. Dean Dorsey noted that surveys are indicating that fundraising is up nationwide. The College endowment funds have performed well recently in the investment market. Dean Dorsey hopes to provide more details on the College fundraising at the April meeting. He indicated he is pushing more for support to come to faculty, students, and resources not as much bricks and mortar.

Committee Reports:

- Academic Standards Committee: Received 5 appeals; 4 approved and 1 denied.
- Curriculum Committee: Approved 19 new courses, approved 9 course changes, and approved 2 proposals.
- Executive Committee: No new business reported.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:47pm.

Respectfully submitted, Christine Franklin Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Statistics

FRANKLIN COLLEGE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE REPORT February 18, 2014

Curriculum Description	Approved
New Courses Reviewed	19 new courses
Course Changes	9 course changes
Proposals Approved: LACSI Bulletin Changes Criminal Justice Bulletin Changes	