Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the meeting on Tuesday, April 19, 2016

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM in room 104 of Conner Hall, Dan Nakano presiding.

Members Present: John Achee, Christine Albright, Maor Bar-Peled, Mary Bedell, Tom Cerbu, Shanta Dhar, Inge DiBella, Fred Dolezal, Diana Downs, Ray Freeman-Lynde, Lisa Fusillo, Kim Gilbert, Adam Goodie, Richard Gordon, Jaclyn Hartenberger, Chad Howe, Richard Hubbard, Takahiro Ito, Kevin Jones, Jain Kwon, Derrick Lemons, Tricia Lootens, Reid Messich, Lan Mu, Dan Nakano, Rielle Navitski, Don Nelson, Lakshmish Ramaswamy, Jeremy Reynolds, Mitch Rothstein, Inseok Song, T.N. Sriram, Phillip Stancil, Lianchun Wang, Sarah Wright

Proxies: Peter O'Connell for Analisa Arroyo, Chuck Hopkinson for Renato Castelao, Nik Heynen for Jennifer Rice

Guest:

Members not present: Husseina Dinani, Maria Hybinette, Nicolas Morrissey, Rick Tarleton

Approval of the minutes of the March 15 meeting: Approved without corrections.

President Dan Nakano's Remarks

- After the last meeting, the letter approved by the Senate on HB89 was faxed to the Governor's office, with copies emailed to President Morehead, Provost Whitten and Dean Dorsey. Governor Deal has until May 3 to act on this bill.
- Thanks were extended to committee chairs for their hard work this year. Inseok Song was singled out for his recent successes in filling the awards committee and committee chair positions for next year. Parties interested in filling the remaining Chair vacancies should contact Dr. Nakano or Dr. Goodie.
- Today we will continue discussing degree termination, following communication with Dean Ruppersberg.
- President Nakano expressed his thanks for the opportunity to serve as President. This year we responded promptly and strongly to evaluation and HB859 issues, and he was pleased with the process by which we arrived at consensus on these issues. He expressed hope for similar strength and unity in the future.

Dean Dorsey's Remarks

- Dean Dorsey expressed his thanks to President Nakano and the Senate leadership this year for their service.
- Last week was Honors Week at UGA. We celebrated the accomplishments of faculty, staff and students. Congratulations to all the recipients within Franklin College, of whom there were quite a number. Special shout-out to Dan Nakano for receiving the Creative Research Award.

- Upcoming staffing changes in the Dean's office were announced. Senior Associate Dean
 Hugh Ruppersberg will be retiring from UGA on June 30. In his 39-year career at UGA,
 his many contributions include scholarship, teaching and significant administrative
 service as Head of English, Associate Dean and Senior Associate Dean, Interim Dean,
 and Interim Vice Provost. His wisdom and counsel will be missed. Plans for his
 succession will be made soon.
- On the budget, the process of budget development is ongoing. There was previously reported the possibility of a 3% salary increase, which has now been implemented. Specific salary increases were recommended by unit Heads, and are being processed now.
- The climate survey Count Me In concluded in November. Results will be provided to University early in the Fall term. Discussion of potential actions based on the results are expected following that reporting.
- The experiential learning initiative is on track for implementation beginning with Fall 2016 matriculating students. OVPI has approved many courses and continues to lead implementation efforts. There is a broad array of courses and activities that fulfill the requirement. Linda Bachman will be meeting with Heads tomorrow to update on the initiative.
- Science Learning Center construction on South campus has proceeded, with dedication planned in mid-August and classes beginning in Fall 2016.
- Questions were invited.

Committee Reports:

- Executive Committee: Preparation of two initiatives to be discussed in New Business.
- Curriculum Committee: No new business reported.
- Academic Standards Committee: Received 6 petitions, 4 approved, 2 denied.
- Committee on Faculty Affairs: No new business reported.
- Committee on Planning & Evaluation: No new business reported.

New Business:

• College Awards Committee member nominations:

Fine Arts – Isabelle Wallace (Lamar Dodd School of Art)

Humanities – Dana Bultman (Romance Languages)

Life Sciences - Mary Bedell (Genetics)

Physical & Mathematical Sciences – Steven Lewis (Physics & Astronomy)

Social and Behavioral Sciences - John Knox (Geography)

The slate was approved unanimously.

• Committee chair nominations:

Curriculum Committee – Derrick Lemons (Religion)

Executive Committee - Richard Gordon (Romance Languages)

Planning & Evaluation Committee - Nicolas Morrissey (Lamar Dodd School of Art)

The slate was approved unanimously.

It was noted that nominations are pending for the Academic Standards and Faculty Affairs Committees.

• Officer nominations for 2016-17:

President-elect nominee: Mary Bedell (Genetics)

Secretary nominee: Chad Howe (Romance Languages)

The slate was approved unanimously.

• Vietnamese Language and Literature Minor

A motion was made and seconded to table, passed unanimously.

• Termination of Degrees Discussion

A motion was made and seconded to enact a policy requiring that a representative of the relevant unit be present when the Senate approves significant restructuring of a degree program, including initiation or termination. The relevant unit will be contacted in advance of the meeting to notify the unit of the requirement and invite a representative to be present. Senators are appropriate unit representatives for this purpose, but others may also serve this function. Following discussion, the motion passed by a vote of 29 yes, 4 no.

A motion was made and seconded to resume consideration of terminating degrees, passed unanimously.

A motion was made and seconded to terminate the Dance, A.B. program, which had appeared on the March 2016 Senate agenda but was tabled. The motion passed unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:40 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Adam Goodie Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for Psychology