# Franklin College Faculty Senate Minutes of the Meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2024 304 Forestry Building 1

The meeting was called to order at 3:43, Benjamin Britton presiding.

Members Present: Christine Albright, Toyin Alli, Mark Anderson, Adam Barb, Holly Bik, Kelly Black, Benjamin Britton, Pilar Chamorro Fernandez, Carmen Comeaux, Fae Dou, Rebecca Gose, Peter Hoffer, Steve Holland, Allison Howard, Richard Hubbard, Christin Huggins, Nicolás Lucero, Sandy Martin, Vasant Muralidharan, Richard Neupert, Chris Peterson, Laurie Reitsema, Amy Ross, Alexandra Shapiro, Matthew Shipes, Jennifer Stull, Andrea Sweigart, Justine Tinkler, Frans Weiser, Michael White, Hang Yin

**Proxies:** Yang Yang for Monsur Chowdhury, Geng Yuan for Le Guan, Sarangan Balasubramaniam for Dan Hall

**Members not present:** Joel Caughran, DeLoris Hesse, Imi Hwangbo, Joe Kellner, Ro Martini Paula, Emily Mouilso, Bernd Schuttler, Anne Summers, Sarah Wright

Approval of the minutes of the March 19, 2024 meeting: The minutes were approved without corrections unanimously

## **President Benjamin Britton's Remarks:**

Thank you to everyone for serving on committees and the Franklin Senate. Thanks to all officers, and leadership, Christine, Matt, and everyone serving as chairs Today we are voting on nominees for a new president elect, secretary and a slate of committee chairs for the following academic year.

Nominees must have served 1 year in committee you are trying to chair, and members are encouraged to observe chairs and their duties if they are interested in serving in the future.

#### Senate operation reminders:

- Any new proposed agenda items may be sent to Executive Committee Chair Christine Albright
- Items not on the agenda may be added by 2/3 majority Senator vote, and will be added to next meeting's agenda by the Executive Committee
- Committees will forward items to the executive committee when ready to be added to the next agenda

#### Procedure for discussion –

- Raise hand to be added to the queue
- Visitors will be recognized after there are no Senators waiting to speak
- People looking to speak a second time will be recognized when there are no new voices waiting to speak answering a question/making a motion do not count
- Voting begins after discussion ends only Senators and proxies may vote.

Meetings will always end at 5:00 PM at the latest. Thanks to Sherry Gray for everything she does to make these meetings happen.

## **Dean Anna Stenport's Remarks:**

Thanks to all members of the Senate for their service – this faculty governance in action is important work to advance the college.

First, I want to recognize the incredible round of awards we had during UGA Honors week (1<sup>st</sup> week in April). Franklin was exceptionally well-represented in all UGA awards – academic excellence, graduate awards, honors college awards, and research creativity awards. It is remarkable to see the many areas where the college excels.

Please consider joining a committee in your department to help continue recognizing Franklin College distinguished faculty. It is a very important role of faculty governance to bring forward the great work from our units. It is also important to show this work and demonstrate to our colleagues in all other UGA colleges, and to push forward these items for external recognition, awards, and prizes.

Please continue this work and work within your department to help demonstrate the significance of the arts and sciences, research, education, and public service.

UGA has a large public service and outreach unit. We have representation in all counties through extension and significant public service and outreach faculty and staff members. This is the only category where Franklin had no award recipients during honors week. I encourage you to work with your departments to find ways to nominate faculty and staff colleagues who are doing work that advances public engagement with state of Georgia. Marshall Shepherd, the Associate Dean of Multidisciplinary Research and Partnership will work with departments to grow the pipeline of projects that are being nominated to be recognized at the University level for public service and outreach. That is a request from the college to all senators to engage in that work to recognize the contributions of our colleagues.

I will conclude with kudos to all of you, your colleagues and department leadership for helping the college reach its philanthropy milestone three months early. We just passed the 10 million dollar mark, which reflects both an increase in the number of gifts and total dollar amount raised by about 2.5 million. These dollars help secure successful faculty recruitment and retention packages, for example, Philanthropy matters also for recruiting and supporting graduate students, especially doctoral students. Thank you to everyone who has been involved in reaching out to alumni and thinking with department leadership about fundable projects that might be of interest to donors.

I have made some recommendations to units after meeting with department heads. One of these is for units to have some kind of mechanism to advance alumni relations, awards, and recognition, which can over time lead to additional philanthropy. Please reach out to your department leadership if you are interested in that kind of work.

#### **Committee Reports**

- <u>Executive</u>: The committee received a proposal from the Planning and Evaluation committee to amend Franklin Senate by-laws to include a parliamentarian for the Senate

   Since this is a more involved process, the committee decided to table that proposal until the August meeting
- Academic Standards: the committee considered one appeal which was approved
- <u>Curriculum</u>: nothing to report
- Faculty Affairs: nothing to report
- Planning and Evaluation: nothing to report

#### **New Business:**

#### <u>Elections – Benjamin Britton, Senate President:</u>

- Senate Committee Chairpersons for AY 2024-25:
  - o Executive Committee: Christine Albright, Senator, Classics
  - o Academic Standards: Jennifer Stull, Senator, Hugh Hodgson School of Music
  - o Faculty Affairs: Rebecca Gose, Senator, Dance
  - o Curriculum Committee: Open
  - o Planning and Evaluation: Open
  - Vote for all proposed chairs all nominees were voted in unanimously
- Senate President-elect for AY 2024-25
  - Carmen Comeaux, Senator, English Introduction: Carmen is a full-time lecturer, and would like to advocate for teaching faculty in our college. Her PhD is in Cognitive-Science, and her research is interdisciplinary - using cognitive science to explain literary texts. Her dissertation was a cognitive biography of Flannery O'Conner.
  - o The nominee was voted in unanimously
- Senate Secretary for AY 2024-25
  - o Michael White, Senator, Genetics
  - o The nominee was voted in unanimously

The meeting was adjourned at 4:03 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Matthew Shipes

Franklin College Senate Secretary and Senator for the Hugh Hodgson School of Music