Staff Awards, Staff Appreciation

7 people with award plaques

StaffAwards_2017.jpgThe Franklin College celebrated staff and presented Staff Excellence in Service Awards at a reception in the Miller Learning Center on May 9:

Franklin College Staff Excellence in Service Awards are designed to honor staff members for their excellent performance outstanding contributions to units in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. Nominees are evaluated and selected based on five criteria: their excellence in fulfilling job requirements, their ability to deomnstrate initiative and creativity toward improving the operation of their unit; their motivation to promote a positive morale in their workplace; and their dedication to improving the image and performance of their unit.

The 2017 Staff Excellence in Service Awards were presented to Edith Hollander, Hugh Hodgson School of Music; Laurie Norris, Department of English; Joni Callihan, Department of Marine Sciences; and Susan Watkins, Department of Plant Biology.

The 2017 Staff Excellence in Diversity leadership Award was presented to Loretta Scott of the Department of Geography

The IT Professional of the Year Award was presented to Richard Hare, who leads Franklin College IT efforts in the Science Learning Center, among other locations on campus.

The Outstanding Academic Advisor Award was presented to Michael Hill of the Office of Student Academic Services.

As usual, we had a great turnout of staff and faculty at the reception. Congratulations to all the award recipients.

And on Thursday May 11, all UGA staff members are invited to attend the third annual Staff Appreciation Day celebration from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the intramural fields. The event will feature lunch, door prizes, activities and an all-around good time with fellow staff.

Image: From l-r: Joni Callihan, Edith Hollander, Laurie Norris, Loretta Scott, Richard Hare, Susan Watkins and Michael Hill.