Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows

professor with artifact, students

librFellows teaser.jpgTwelve University of Georgia faculty committed to developing new courses using the University’s archival material have been named Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows:

[The] Program provides instructional support and a $2000 financial stipend to faculty who wish to develop new courses or redesign existing courses to make significant use of the collections and resources of the University of Georgia’s three special collections libraries: the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives & Peabody Awards Collection.

Eight of the 12 recipients are from Franklin College units:

  • Brandon Craswell, Hugh Hodgson School of Music
  • Elizabeth Davis, Department of English
  • Tina Harris, Department of Communication Studies
  • John Lowe, Department of English
  • Teresa Saxton, Department of English
  • Nancee Reeves, Department of English
  • Beth Tobin, Department of English and Women's Studies
  • Eileen Wallace, Lamar Dodd School of Art

Congratulations to these faculty members, and to the Center for Teaching and Learning and the UGA Libraries for a program that incentivizes the use of these incredible campus resources. The breadth of our library collections is something usually found only in major cities, and not even most of those. And right here in Athens are the treasures of civilization and the keys to knowledge even though the door is open most every day.

Image: CTL