Kudos, February 2017

Man at podium with award

Darvil teaser.jpgRussell Teaching Award, Georgia Writers Hall of Fame inductions and Georgia Bio Awards lead the way in recent accolades for Franklin Faculty:

Three faculty members, including associate professor of genetics Kelly Dyer, receive Russell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching – UGA Today

B. Phinizy Spalding Professor of History Emeritus James Cobb among three authors named to Georgia Writers Hall of Fame – ABH

Yiping Zhao, Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, has been elected as a Fellow in SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics founded in 1955 to advance an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light. Zhao is one of 71 new Fellows of the Society elected in 2017, recognized as members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging.

UGA named a top producer of Fulbright students, scholars – ABH, Global Atlanta, Athens CEO, UGA Today

UGA scores big at latest Georgia Bio awards – UGA Today Alan Darvill, director of the Complex Carbohydrate Research Center; Robert Ivarie, professor emeritus of genetics among leaders were recognized for significant contributions they and their units have made to Georgia's life sciences industry

Three University of Georgia research projects have been named as the inaugural recipients of the Student Affairs Faculty Research Grant, including Katie Ehrlich, assistant professor in the department of psychology and the Center for Family Research, and Anne Shaffer, associate professor in the department of psychology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences for their project on Parent-Child Relationships across Students' Transitions to College

David P. Landau, Distinguished Research Professor and Founding Director of the Center for Simulational Physics, has been awarded a “Doctor Honoris Causa” by the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG) in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. In 2014, Landau was elected to the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.

Image: Alan Darvill, Regents Professor of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Plant Biology accepted Georgia Bio's Community Award on behalf of UGA's Complex Carbohydrate Research Center.